This lock marks the end of tidal Thames and an obelisk below the lock marks the boundary of the jurisdiction of the Port of London Authority. There are two footbridges that meet on the lock island. These were designed in 1888 by G Pooley to replace the previous ferry. The bridge shown is a suspension bridge and the shorter bridge to the Surrey side is a girder design. The area around Teddington Lock is very popular with sight-seers and there are many picturesque pubs in the immediate area. It is also close to Teddington Television Studios and can often be seen in film and television location shots.