This bridge, ht 13’6” and constructed of steel bowstring girders, was opened in 1923 to replace an earlier one and originally carried the GWR line. It passes across the river below the picturesque Iffley lock and although the pylons indicate an industrial area it is in fact quite peaceful at this point.
Downstream lies Radley College Boat House and Sandford on Thames and this stretch is often busy with rowing crews out for training.
The Manor of Sandford was given to the Knights Templar in 1240 by Thomas de Saunford and despite the suppression of the order over the centuries the name is still reflected locally, eg. Temple Farm.